Nerds are Cool

nerds

Rexis here!

I’ve been absent for awhile. You may or may not have noticed. Sorry about that. Its not that I haven’t had time to write, I just don’t have anything to say lately. At least, nothing that hasn’t already been said. I’ve been spending time watching new TV shows and playing video games of course. In short, the Marvel shows Daredevil, Jessica Jones, and Luke Cage were amazing and I can’t wait for Iron Fist, The Defenders, and Punisher. As for gaming, my time is divided by my three current favorites: Grand Theft Auto Online, The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD, and of course Minecraft.

See? I have nothing to say about these things except that they are all awesome. As is everything on the horizon. Dr. Strange, Rogue Squadron, Logan, The Walking Dead, Fantastic Beasts and Game of Thrones are all coming soon. What an age we live in! There is so much to see and do in the world of entertainment, its hard to keep up with it all. I refuse to even watch the DC shows. I don’t have the time. I think we’ve hit a peak in regards to the nerd culture that permeates our society now. Its become almost… overwhelming.

Don’t get me wrong. Its great that we have this mass acceptance of what was once fringe culture. Gone are the days of the stereotypical basement dwelling nerd with his mint comic book collection. No longer do gamers hide their favorite pastimes. I even have a friend on Facebook asking about the pros/cons of LARP’ing in a graveyard with no fear of retribution. I can’t imagine how this would have gone ten or twelve years ago in my high school. Just kidding. I totally can because I lived it. As a gamer and player of CCG’s, I know exactly the kind of taunting and bullying that comes with the territory.

So what happened? How did we get from there to where we are now? How did the zeitgeist change so drastically? I’d wager it has something to do with the internet and social media, but what do I know? I’m just some anonymous blogger on the internet that can barely find the motivation to write.

What I do know is that we live in an era where fantasy worlds and fantastic beasts reign supreme.

And that is cool.

2 thoughts on “Nerds are Cool

  1. I’m still trying to figure out whether this is a good thing. I like the easier access, but I also feel that it loses some of the spirit that it used to have. I have greatly enjoyed Arrow and Flash, more than I did the Marvel shows other than Agents of Shield. Supergirl has been good as well, but not as engrossing as the others so far. I would recommend them all to you if you get any time (sometimes I listen more than watch as I’m playing games).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I miss a lot trying to watch the tube at the same time as gaming. I get lost too easy in game worlds. I’ve “seen” a lot of movies from behind FFXI. I am interested in the DC shows, but it’s a big investment to try to watch them chronologically. Ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat…

      As for the rise in nerd culture being good or bad, it’s hard to say. It may dillute the uniqueness of the culture because we are forced to share something we hold sacred with people who are new to it all, but at least we are subject matter experts and can be proud to say so. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

